15 MAR 2012

Dr Dan presents regional Young Writer Competition awards at Heath Primary School

Dr Dan with the two prizewinners of the Young Letter Writing competition, Matthew Gilchrist and Genevieve Melling, and Nigel Cook at Heath Primary School, Kesgrave. Over the past few weeks, Dan has visited a number of schools and met with many young people across the constituency, from Wickham Market Community Primary School to Whitehouse Primary School in North Ipswich. He is extremely proud that we have so many good schools in Ipswich and Suffolk, with teachers and staff who are prepared to go the extra mile to inspire children to succeed. Last week, Dan was invited to Heath Road Primary School in Kesgrave to present two pupils with Young Letter Writing awards for their outstanding achievement in an annual national competition, sponsored by the Royal Mail.

This year, children aged between 7 and 11 were asked to write about what the Olympics means to them, ahead of this summer’s London Games. The overall winner for the East of England regional heat was Matthew Gilchrist, who beat hundreds of other pupils across East Anglia to pick up the award, whilst Genevieve Melling scooped a Highly Commended certificate for her efforts. Dan would like to extend his warmest congratulations to both pupils on their excellent achievements, and to thank Nigel Cook of the Royal Mail and Head Teacher Susan Bowditch for inviting him to present the awards.

Back to all posts

Contact Dr Dan Poulter

Click here to contact Dan

Dr Dan's work in Parliament

Written Answers — Department for Transport: A14: Bridges (10 Jul 2019)
Daniel Poulter: To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, how many days the A14 Orwell Bridge has been closed in each year since 2000.

Written Answers — Department of Health and Social Care: Compulsorily Detained Psychiatric Patients (8 Jul 2019)
Daniel Poulter: To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, how many and what proportion of working-age adult mental-health bed admissions have taken place under the Mental Health Act 1983 in each year since 2009.